In many schools and universities today, women have a tendency to study the humanities (such as the arts and languages) while men more often major in science-related subjects. What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

Dissimilarity in gender leads to a difference in subject preferences between men who concentrate in science-related subjects and women who are enthusiastic in studying the humanities. Reasons for this vary, but this tendency is also arguably considered primitive in this fast-changing and developed society.

The aforementioned situation can be attributable to gender-specific personalities and competence. First of all, female students have always been acknowledged for their tremendous self-discipline, creativeness, and patience required for various subject such as language and art while male peers ordinarily outperform them in scientific subjects. For instance, J.K.Rowling is the most creative and popular female novelist of the 21st century with her all-time best-selling series Harry Potters. Second, it has been proved that each of two sexes experiences distinct set of social expectations from other people when it comes to picking a job or pursuing an academic subject. Hardly could sons in Vietnamese traditional families choose their career paths based on their interests but on their parents' wishes of being rather engineers or doctors.

Despite such inherent belief that has been posted on both men and women for generations, the value of gender equality and freedom of choice, especially in educational fields, are endorsing globally. On the one hand, families should encourage their children to participate in an environment where young boys and girls could best cultivate their aptitudes rather than being forced to attend unwanted classes. In fact, people, who could easily be found on tv shows such as America's Got Talent or in the book of Guinness World Records, are more confident and motivated when showing their unique talents regardless of their gender.

In conclusion, the divergent proportion of students choosing subjects is attributable to different causes. Although, this trend should be adjusted in terms of prioritizing the freedom of choice from either gender.