Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

As the necessity for attaining higher education is fundamentally felt in modern societies, a large number of students face the dilemma of leaving their parents’ houses in order to settle in campus of universities. While there are cogent reasons supporting this trend, its negative aspects should be taken into consideration as well.

Starting with the upsides, many former college students claim that living far from their families has contributed to their sense of independence and self-sufficiency. According to the proponents of this trend, this is a path preparing the youth for adulthood. Furthermore, entering the university is considered a life-changing experience which will supposedly shape the identity of an individual. In the Course of this development people need to be free of their families’ constant meddling, otherwise toxic conflicts will rise to damage the bond between parents and their offsprings.

Turning to the other side of the argument, saying farewell to one’s family, no matter for what cause, in numerous cases triggers anxiety or even depression, interfering with one's concentration, thus resulting in poor educational performance. It is also worth mentioning that in the absence of parents, especially maternal figure, one is entitled to do time consuming chores like cooking which may distract him from studying. Another demerit of this trend is that juveniles are prone to developing adverse habits like drug abuse or alcoholism. In fact, sorority and fraternity houses are exceptionally notorious in this regard, as rumors of their residents’ frivolity revolve.

To recapitulate, there are both pros and cons to moving out of parents’ house in pursuit of a college degree. I, for one, opine that the demerits of this phenomenon in terms of feeling homesick and depressed, the risk of developing unfavorable behavior, and burdening the student with so many chores, outweigh merits like preparing the individual for the foreseeable future and preserving family bonds.