Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

In order to pursue higher education, some students have to move to a different city or country, while others have the opportunity to continue staying with their parents in their hometown. There are both benefits and drawbacks of both mentioned situations.

On the one hand, living at home with families has both advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, it is a more economical condition since students do not have to worry about housing expenses. In fact, they are provided with almost free well-furnished room, laundry, food and the like. Therefore, having a part-time job is not necessary. Secondly, they continue to enjoy family support as long as staying in the same house. Cozy atmosphere, family meals and also advice given by parents or family members are important factors that students living far away from home cannot have. However, students are easily distracted from the study by family activities. Hardly can a student study well in a disruptive environment including loud noise from televisions, family gathering parties or family conversations. Consequently, their school performance can be greatly affected.

On the other hand, students who stay outside also face challenges. If their university locates in the urban area, it will be difficult to find an affordable house or room. They also have to cover other housing-related costs which are considerately high. Moreover, homesick or loneliness is an undeniable feeling that they might suffer since an independent life is hard to fulfill at the first time. Despite the above difficulties, studying in another city or country also brings benefits. In terms of privacy, students have more private zones to do things they like and focus on their study without the interruption of others. In fact, they can stay up all night to study or eat whatever they wish without being afraid of their parents' complaints. Additionally, an independent life helps them meet more new friends and integrate themselves faster in a new environment.

From all the above-mentioned, students hardly have a choice to choose whether living with families or alone in a new city; however, each way has its own profit and harm that they have to identify by themselves. A living condition is considered one of the primary factors for a person’s educational success, so students should decide carefully when choosing where to live in their 4-year university studying.