Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

It is true that some university students stay with their parents and siblings while the others stay away from home to live in halls of residents or rooms for rent to pursue their study. There are advantages and disadvantages of both these situations.

There are some benefits and drawbacks in staying with families while entering academic environment. First of all, one major advantage worth considering is that they are able to economize on accommodation. Another benefit is more opportunities provided for students to strengthen the family bonds, a factor which is crucial in the process of entering adult life. Nevertheless, some advantages may arise from this decision. A significant exposure to various distractions would be a barrier to study process. It would be hard to keep up with students’ schedule, which is closely related to graduation with flying colors.

On the other hand, those who make a decision to stay far from home also face a wide range of obstacles. One of the main disadvantages is high cost of accommodation. These students choosing living in major urban centers in preference to hometown pay for a large amount of hiring money including deposit only to utilize basic facilities. Another serious drawback is easily getting exposed to social temptations, for instance, drug or alcohol addiction and prostitution. By contrast, a variety of benefits would be gained from independence life in another city. Students are able to establish research routines through reading academic books, discuss with fellow friends and prepare animated presentations. Thanks to these activities, friendships and relationships would also be formed and developed, benefits which could be of great benefits to career development in the future.

In conclusion, while there are various differences of personal circumstances of individual university students, a wealth of potential advantages and disadvantages of living at home or away from home needs to be thoroughly considered.