Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both situations?

It is true that, although some university students are able to live with their families while studying in their home town, others are forced to live away from home in order to pursue their studies. There are advantages and disadvantages of both these situations.

On the one hand, if university students are able to live with their families, there are both benefits and drawbacks. Firstly, one major advantage is that they are able to economize, since they do not have to pay for accommodation. Secondly, they enjoy family support in terms of sharing meals, heating costs, possibly even sharing a room with a brother or sister. However, the home situation may also have its disadvantages. One negative aspect is family routines are often disruptive for students who have to concentrate on their studies in a quiet atmosphere. For example in the evenings or at weekends, without a dedicated space in which to study, it is hard to keep up with a study schedule.

On the other hand, when students live away from home, they also face challenges. One significant disadvantage is having to find suitable accommodation. Universities are often located in major urban centers, where rents are sky-high (exorbitant) if students have to find a room with even the basic facilities. Nevertheless, there are obvious benefits of learning to study independently in another city. Students are able to escape the distractions of family life, and thereby establish study routines and form friendships with other students who find themselves in the same situation. These factors may help them in their studies.

In conclusion, while there will clearly be differences in the personal circumstances of individual university students, some potential advantages and disadvantages of living at home or away from home can be identified.