In many workplaces, online communication is getting more common than meeting face to face. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Business conferences and training are taking place more and more on online platforms, replacing traditional face-to-face communication and information exchange. Although this trend has certain advantages, its disadvantages are much more considerable.

The trend seen in companies switching their training activities and business discussions to the online mode has many advantages. First of all, this offers staff increased flexibility and full control of their timetable, which is likely to diminish the unnecessary high-stress levels and thus boost their work productivity. For instance, working mothers find this incredibly helpful for them to multitask between rearing their children and joining meetings to keep abreast of developments in the company. Furthermore, this online mode of operation could help companies economize on expenditure by not having to pay for the electricity bills, printed documents, or equipment for carrying out the meeting or training procedures, for instance.

On the other hand, this option has two major drawbacks. Firstly, communication via the internet can be a hindrance as there might be failures in the flow of information. For example, in Vietnam, not many people can afford a high-speed internet connection, and as a consequence, lagging connection or computer crashing can cause disruptions, reducing comprehension among meetings or training participants. In addition, there is little room for practice and the lack of direct guidance also prevents people from fully grasping the skills. It would be less productive because employees receiving training cannot apply what they are taught on the internet, or can be clumsy in their actual performance since there is no one to show them whether they are doing it the right way as reality is sometimes completely different from theory.

In conclusion, despite some benefits of staying at home and participating in discussions or training sessions, the drawbacks far outweigh such benefits.