Running a business and taking it to heights is no easy job. Of the several strategies required excellent marketing is one of them. Some people opine that marketing and product promotion is necessary for businesses to flourish. While I can not completely reject this point of view but I do believe that product quality, retail price and brand name also play a vital role in this regard.

To begin with, marketing raises the awareness among people of the existing or new product a company has to offer. Without it no one would know of the product, its features, services, price, and other aspects which sets it apart from its competitors. The effect will be seen in its plateau sales. Thus marketing techniques like advertisement on mass media devices like TV, social media, newspapers, magazines and radio is pivotal to reach out to people and sell your product. Only then a consumer can evaluate and decide about buying it.

Moreover, effective marketing creates a good image in the customer's eyes and inclines them to buy. Showcasing the company's and product's positive aspects draws the targeted audience to buy goods and services offered from them. For instance, Nike advertised that their joggers are resistant to wear and tear and can last up to years. This influenced several customers into buying it.

However, marketing alone can not guarantee a successful business. Firstly product quality and the maintenence of it is fundamental for a product to prosper. A poor qualtiy product even if marketed to the best of abilities can not survive long in todays competive market. Secondaly, cost of the product also plays a critical role. Potential buyers easily can surf online and compare prices offered by rival organizations and mosltly in this time of recession many people buy the cheapest product available. Last but not the least brand name compels many people into buying their product. Many consumers buy services and items from well established and reknowed brand names as they are reliable and socially acceptable. For example Iphone even though being much expensive from many of rival mobiles, still has the highest sales due to its famous and well reputed brand name.

Coming to the gest of the argument is, despite marketing being one of the critical techniques to yield higher sales yet other factors listed above can not be ignored in assuring running of a prosperous business.