Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Memorizing is an underestimation of the whole education process, as they only contribute to a portion of it. And yet, surprisingly, students are using it as the primary tool to succeed in their school or university. In this essay, I will express my opposition that it is wrong to be a clipboard in the learning process.

Memorizing their textbooks, learners are not any successful than those who do not. That is because understanding is the key to be an outstanding endeavor, as it not only advances a student carrier but also in life. The rationale behind that is students, terrified, do not want to forget what they have leaned cumulatively. Not a man is shield when it comes to forgetting information, yet it is not the best way to do it. Most textbooks are designed to be understood, especially math, biology, and technology. In a math book, for instance, you may see a formula that put to explain how a particular conclusion achieved. This suggests that you, as a student, need rather understand not to memorize the calculations. If remembered, it would be difficult to use it as the input to that formula changed. Even though the learner may able to pass a test based on repeating information, it has a time limit before it diminished. Thus, it will be negatively contributed if the job, after graduation, needs those concepts and resulting in a carrier failure.

On another side of the coin, some schools have a policy where the student must give an oral exam. In this situation, a learner may get nervous, and memorized information would not be precisely presented. By getting lower marks, it will affect a student's GPA.

All in all, while students prefer memorizing over understanding, I am a huge fan of the latter.