In modern society, more and more people choose to live on their own. What are the reason people choose to live on their own? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In this modern day, globally, households are shrinking- the wave of leading a solitary life is prevalent among adults, especially young people. However, personally, I'm concerned that fleeing the family nest so soon can have its downsides.

First and foremost, most people prefer living by themselves because they want to achieve the goal to create an independent individual. Some people are craving to enjoy the novelty of social and financial freedom, which means they are at liberty to indulge themselves with whatever they dream of. However, that might sound like a fantasy, others resort to living independently as a matter of necessity. They might come from an abusive family or an underprivileged background which strongly empowers them to move away from their family instantly.

Although it's good for young people to be able to be independent, focusing on moving out can have a detrimental impact on those who are not yet mentally equipped to live by themselves. The likelihood is that emotional loneliness can be a tough challenge. If they are unable to work out through this phase, this will probably accumulate a great amount of negative thoughts and moving out turns out to be a terrible decision. Moreover, having yet obtained enough personal skills like: cooking, washing dishes and doing chores, some people find its struggling to learn how to do it from scratch, which is a burdensome work.. As a result, the novelty of singledom will gradually wear off.

In conclusion, independence and freedom is a really great desire, however, a full preparation is worth considering before living in one-person household.