Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge.

To what extent is this a positive or a negative development?

In our modern world, many people like to listen to music and read books. That is why there are many individuals who download copyrighted music from the internet without charges. There are many positive and negative opinions about these activities. In this essay I will discuss both sides of this view.

Nowadays, people prefer to download it free from the internet, rather than pay for it, because few reasons. First of all, paid music is quite expensive, so I think that it is better to download it from the internet. Secondly, it is generally known that most of people prefer free things, rather than paid. For example, in my country it is quite difficult to find a licensed music or original book, that is why we have to download it from the internet. Also there are many illegal shops, where everybody can buy a disc or book for a song.

However, it is not good for singers or writers, because it is their salary, and they are earning moneys from this activity. Also everybody knows, that licensed music are very good, and people can listen to it with a great pleasure. Many people claims, that we should buy it rather than download copyrighted music or books. In this case, many researchers indicate that in the nearest future it would be very hard to download it from the internet and people will have to buy it.

In conclusion, I would like to state that if the price of copyrighted books and music will be reduced it would be better for both sides. Because, in this case many people will be able to buy it.