In the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the Internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is true that the rising prevalence of the Internet has radically changed people’s lives, allowing us to socialize and work in the absence of real interaction. While not disavowing this tendency’s implication for social betterment, I opine that its drawbacks should not be overlooked.

On the one hand, a number of advantages brought about by wireless connection have been widely acknowledged. In terms of business, advances in Internet technology contribute to the emergence of e-commerce, in which residents can get involved in online shopping and, therefore, become less likely to squander their time wandering in shopping malls or supermarkets. Besides, this technological breakthroughs also facilitate brands reduce their overhead cost, since conducting transactions via the Internet do not require an exorbitant budget for venue and labors. Another benefit stems from communication. Specifically, cutting-edge innovations like video conferencing or video call services have offered citizens opportunities to keep abreast of others’ situation despite a long distance, a demand that cannot be satisfied many years ago.

On the other hand, it seems to me that the trend towards applying the Internet to solve problems in daily life also exerts several minuses. From a security perspective, there has been a consensus that online transactions possess a lower level of authenticity, compared to traditional ones. Consequently, residents are prone to be victims of online scams or computer hackers, which may be detrimental to not only individuals but also the whole population. From a social perspective, despite its convenience, the Internet is condemned to discourage real interaction and negatively influence individuals, especially young people. In other words, due the lack of face-to-face contact, if youngsters channel too much time into utilizing broadband connections, they will suffer from a higher possibility of insufficient cognitive development, or mental health problems.

In brief, taking all its merits and demerits into consideration, I believe that shopping, working and communicating through the Internet will exert double-edged impacts on citizens.