In the modern world, it is possile to shop, work, and communicate with people via internet and live without any face-to-face contact with. Is it a positive or negative development in you opinion?

Over the past few decades, the world has seen an upsurge in the trend of people depending on the internet in every aspect of their lives, from shopping to working. It seems to me that, the benefits obtained from this tendency outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why reliance on the internet has ample harmful effects on the public’s life. First of all, the over-dependance on the internet results in the inadequate communicative ability, which exists prevalent in recent years. This will be proven by looking at young generation, young adults who only immerse themselves into social media excessively would face a range of dilemmas when integrating into an unfamiliar environment, especially workplace, owing to the lack of social skills. Secondly, without face-to-face connection, it would possibly give rise to a society with neither empathy nor compassion, which is due to an increase in detachment levels. Thus, it can be concluded that the downsides of this tendency is incontrovertible.

On the other hand, I contend that the internet is an invaluable communication tool. To begin with, thanks to the technological revolution, every member of society is now able to keep in touch with their relationships worldwide, which considerably contributes to enhance globalization. On top of that, working online is not only less time-consuming but also highly effective simultaneously, which does play a vital factor in the companies’ measures to boost the productivity of their workers along with company’s revenue. Staff working online are adopted to reasearch and refine a variety of information as much as those working at the office, thereby companies can obliterate the expenditure on office’s rent, for instance. All in all, it would be argued that this trend provides various beneficial impacts on the society.

In conclusion, it is my personal belief that the potential benefits of the reliance on the internet are more significant than the possible dangers.