More and more families have computers in their homes, and children spend a great deal of their time using their home computers.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your opinions.

Home computers offer many advantages to the average family. One of the most important of these is the contribution computer can make to a child's education. With parental guidance, children can learn a lot by using a computer.

Firstly, A computer is a useful tool for school work. Computers make it very easy to keep notes and write up school projects. Reference books on computer CDs make it convenient for children to research their school projects. In addition, the internet makes research on any subject possible from the comfort of one's own home. Children can do all this work independently, without asking their parents to take them to the library or buy expensive reference books for them.

Secondly, computers keep children entertained in a educational way. There are many computer games that both attract children and teach them something. Furthermore, the internet offers the curious child a way to find information about anything the he or she is interested in. A child can stay gainfully occupied for hours at a time with a computer.

However, by spending more time on computer at home, children are vulnerable to health problems because of less physical activities . In addition, the large size of the internet is very difficult to control and regulate. Therefore students have access to unsuitable websites and viruses.

According to my personal perspective, parents do not need to limit their children's computer time, although they should pay close attention to what a child does with a computer. Using a computer is not a passive activity like watching television is. The more time a child spends on a computer, the more the child can learn. However, parents should control which websites their children visit and which computer games they play. Then the computer is safe learning tool for children