More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages.

Today, the number of parents allowing their children to spend time on computers and tablets is increasing as they believe that it is better for children to develop technology skills.

It cannot be denied that, in today’s world where even the most human-needed fields such as law sector are threatened to lose their human resources to artificial intelligence, it would be lucrative to be familiar with technology. During the earlier childhood, it is proven that developing a particular skill is far easier when compared to the later times. Accordingly, children are able to learn technological skills quicker and easier than the older ones. Also, the more they exposed to technology the better they become at using it. For instance, it is more likely nowadays to encounter with a baby switching from one YouTube video to another effortlessly as it is already a natural habit. These children will face no challenge when they get into business life. Because today technology related jobs are becoming more and more common and there ara plenty of space for tech-lovers. Also, they even can earn huge amount of money in their childhood and be hailed as superheroes by detecting a gap in the softwares of tech-giants. Additionally, in every job being acquired basic technology skills such as being able to deal with the most common computer programs like Excel and Word is one of the top requirements of human resources professionals.

Along with all these advantages of allowing infants to learn technology skills during their play with computers and tablets, we cannot ignore the hazardous consequences of this technology surrounded life. Technological devices are excellent for distraction and entertainment and they make especially children to stick to them. As a result, children lack social skills as they too much contaminated with computer games and videos. Psychiatrists are constantly warning parents about controlling the screen time of children. Moreover, they are stating that children’s exposure to technological devices earlier from a certain age block their normal physical and psychological development. Accordingly, children cannot learn how to balance their emotions or worse they cannot gain positive attitudes in life; since it has been proven by researches that video games and videos induce negative and aggressive emotions in children’s brains.

Taking into account both the advantages and disadvantages of allowing children to use computers and tablets, answering the question on whether the disadvantages outweigh the advantages depends on a certain preference: raising individuals with healthy characteristics or promising technology skills. In my opinion, the latter is more important for a happy living regardless of how technology centered the world is.