More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that the price increase of fattening foods will solve this problem. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Overweight has been a critical issue and has kept on rising seriously in recent year. Many individuals suggest that raising the price of fat foods could cut down on the consumption and therefore the rate of obesity would reduce. In my opinion, I dissent from that solution and this essay will discuss this statement.

Firstly, many people - especially youngsters - are addicted to junk food. Despite knowing about the detrimental impact and the rise in price, the youth still continue to consume it and ignore the health problems. For example, a famous store decided to increase the price of chocolate which contain lots of calories, but the food could be bought at high prices or some people opt for another type of unhealthy food and it resulted in a huge amount of demand for that fattening food increasing. Therefore, public health is still deteriorating and obesity could increase more in daily life.

Secondly, consuming fattening food is not the only reason for the outweigh. In recent day, the citizens live in a fast - paced society, which makes the lack of physical exercises or time for cooking meals at home. Ready-made meals become ubiquitous and could result in the increase in consuming fatty food frequently. In this situation, family plays an vital role in the solution for the issue. For example, children are keen on junk food and fizzy drinks, so parents should act as a role model and they should be warned about the bad impact of eating too much of it. In short, raising the price can not limit the personal choices of food to eat, especially the youngsters.

In conclusion, obesity is at the alarming rate and the rise of price in unhealthy food is not an effective remedy as well as make people live healthier. Moreover, I fully disagree with this view in the solution for the issue of obesity.