More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone

Living in the cities is a dream of many people because of the high-quality lives, job oportunities, high education for their children. So that, in recent years, more and more people are migrating to cities, however, city life has many difficulties. I will discuss about some of difficulties of this trend and the way governments make urban life better for everyone.

Although cities are often seen as places of opportunities, but there also have many drawbacks. Firstly, the cost of living in the cities is much higher than those in the countrysides or in small towns. City dwellers have to pay higher prices of housing, transport and even food. Secondly, cities tend to suffer from many social’s vices such as crime, porverty in comparision with countrysides. Moreover, urban areas have high rate of air pollution than rural areas because of pollution from traffics and factories, and transport systems in the cities usually overcrowded. As a results city life is stressful and unhealthy.

However, governments could give some solutions to this issue. They could invest money in the building of affordable or social housing to reduce cost of living. To decrease the rate of air pollution, politicians could ban vehicles from city centres and propagate “using public transport” campaign in order to reduce the emissions. In some countries, for example, to reduce traffic jams, the authority could pour their money into constructing and widening new road, besides, they also could apply a congestion charge for drivers who have helped to curb the traffic problem. Finally, moving industry and jobs to rural areas and provincial towns in order to reduce pressure on major cities.

In conclusion, to decrease pressure on urban areas, governments could certainly take action to enhance the quality of life for all city residents