Today, an ongoing number of young people from rich countries enter governmental and nongovernmental organizations to offer wide ranging services to impoverished nations. The reasons regarding this trend will be discussed before considering the benefits both to the recipients and to the volunteers from the affluent country.

Several reasons explain why the youth from prosperous society join volunteer work in underprivileged countries. The first and foremost factor is that it gives them a better chance to work at their resume by putting their acquired knowledge into practice and to develop skills in different areas. Those with such experience have a better chance in job market than those who lack this knowledge. In other words, having great score isn’t the sole criterion for employment, but practical skill is also needed for the success of individuals. Another reason is that they want to nurture the feeling of community and sharing through variety of humanitarian aids like building houses, offering free medical care, teaching and training. This not only help the locals become more competent citizens but also stimulate their economy.

It seems certain that both young people and the poverty stricken regions reap the benefits. Regarding the young, humanitarian assistance serves as a big tool for political advantage. Volunteers’ assistance improve relations between the two nations which boost political stance of the donor and her country across the globe. For appreciation, the host country or recipient of aid try to return the favor via military collaboration in times of war and so on. For example, America, which is regarded as the biggest giver and donor in the world, has built a system of humanitarian relief to offer its services to many countries stricken by natural disaster, economic problem and poverty. This practice also gives the youth an opportunity to get some hands-on experience which can perfectly be suited to their career prospects. Moreover, it can deepen their self-knowledge and social awareness regarding all the suffering and adversity that these indigent people have gone through. Eventually, it fosters the sense of altruism in other societies as well. In respect to host community, they will enjoy all the amenities which have been provided for them by volunteer work from constructing accommodation or housing, building schools, hospitals and infrastructure and educating children. Therefore, all this humanitarian efforts raise people’s standard of living and economy recovery.

Overall, the need to establish rich credentials and to support all those disadvantaged people to rise to the top are important factors that make young people from well-off nations engage in voluntary activities.