In most countries, young people form a large proportion of those who are unemployed. Why is this the case, and what can be done to solve the problem?

There is no doubt that one of the most important steps for the youngsters is to find a job that would help them to maintain decent living. Because of outdated education and technological progress, it has become quite challenging to get a job offer, consequently, putting at risk a great ratio of youngsters to become unemployed for a long period. Both the government and society should try to re-evaluate the education system in a country to mitigate the issue.

One of the main factors for unemployment among youngsters is lack of practical and soft skills that play a vital role for any employer. It means that the latter will choose an experienced worker with developed soft skills who does not require additional upgrade. To overcome it, practical vocations and internships should be proposed during high school or university studies. For instance, if a law student learns how to write user-friendly procedural documents during the internship, it will be much easier to find a job after the graduation as he will outstand his peers.

Another reason that causes unemployment is a constant technological progress that threatens to replace most of the physical work. It is well known fact that many years ago the youth found a place at a manufactory or a farm after finishing a couple of classes. This strategy, in fact, does not work anymore as machines and artificial intelligence can do simple work more effectively than young people, leaving the latter without a chance to find a job. To tackle the issue, it is a sensible idea to promote higher education and to propose free courses, like basic accounting or programming. It is likely that those, who do not have a job, will use it opportunity to better their chances on a job market.

All in all, the problem of unemployed young people has different roots, however, outdated education and fast progress are the main reasons of this, thus, the issue should be resolved by improving educational system and creating opportunities that would further support a young job-seeker.