Most of our information comes from the Internet nowadays Some people say that a large part of the information we get is incorrect Do you agree or disagree

In these modern days, the internet becomes our basis for almost anything. All sorts of information could be retrieved instantly with a click of a finger. However, many people still in doubt regarding the accuracy of most of the information gathered from the internet. This speculation leads us into this essay to break down some of the arguments and to pick a stand whether I agree or disagree.

The Indonesian government had established a team called Tim Cyber whose designated to become the law enforcement on the internet. They will search and take an action against any cyber crime, not to mention the false information (which normally people called "hoax"), and will give the guilty side a penalty or sanction according to the law. One case happened in March 2020 where the Covid-19 started to spread in Indonesia. One man around 29 years old obliviously makes a statement that the covid was not ever existed. Tim Cyber got this lead and took an action accordingly. This example must be done because the government must ensure the accuracy of the information that the public got from the internet.

However, we must admit that there is still so many people who had not had a clear mind on spreading a piece of valid information. They wanted to be famous and one of the ways for them to become one, they need to spread information as quickly as possible, no matter if it is proven or not. One day in 2015, Tom Hanks was reported passed away at the age of 60. This information was spread so quickly through the internet to all over the world, and it was too late for Tom himself or his family to make a clarification. Therefore, people started to send condolence messages and flowers to Tom's domicile. Later on, obviously, Tom made a statement that he was fine and the news was not true at all. This kind of case gave us a valuable lesson on filtering the information and always be careful on forwarding messages.

The Internet has become our daily tool to catching up with the world on what is happening. Personally, I personally agree that there is still so much fake news surfing on the internet. However, it is our duty to digest properly all information that came to us. We have to have a mature stand of point on seeing or hearing information before we forward it to our relatives.