Most people do not care enough about environmental issues.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to latest advancements in technology environment has suffered a lot. Majority of the people are negligent to the environmental concerns that the world is facing today. I completely agree with this opinion and think that if this negligence continues in future also then it can have major consequences for the mankind.

Firstly, the main reason why people are so careless about the environment is they do not see any direct harm or impact that they are causing to the environment due to their day to day activities. The damage is not happening in front of their eyes. Take an example of the ice melting in North pole and South pole, most of the people don’t know and even care how it is going to affect their life somehow. Because the changes happening in the nature are so slow, which makes people think it is not even happening. So, the first step to save the mother Earth would be to make people aware about its current devastating state and how they are going to be affected by it.

Secondly, Humans are really selfish, they can go to any extent in destroying the nature just to make their own life easy and comfortable. Also, the continuous battle going on between different countries regarding the technical advancements leads to further suffering of the environment. For instance, nuclear weapons are a major threat to the whole planet which includes humans as well, but still countries are in continuous war to develop these weapons. With each passing year, more and more countries are developing nuclear weapons and that day is not far when nuclear war between countries will commence and will mark the end of life on Earth. Thus, all countries should come together and should take some concrete measures to stop ruining the nature once and for all.

In conclusion, I think people’s carelessness and selfishness is the main reason for the current environmental issues that we are facing. However, we still have time to amend our deeds if we start thinking about saving the nature from the very moment itself.