Most Vietnamese people have so far cherished the tradition of spending Tet holiday with their family and relatives in their hometown. However, recently some people have chosen to take a holiday trip away from home to other provinces or even to other countries on this occasion. What do you think of this trend?

While celebrating Lunar New Year alongside family and relatives in the hometown has long since been the fundamental tradition in Viet Nam, recent years have witnessed an increasing trend of people traveling far and wide during this special occasion. As far as I know, I do not have any opposition to the phenomenon.

On the one hand, taking a holiday trip away does not ruin tradition. By definition, Tet was one period when farmers could rest from their work in the fields, show gratitude to ancestors and Gods, wishing for a great new year with bumper crops. Nowadays, although the country is no longer agriculture-dominated, the meaning of Tet is continued to be preserved, including being the period of relaxation. Therefore, having a journey far away from home is not a disgrace to thousand-year traditions as lots of people complained. The way those travelers try to take care of themselves after a year of stressful working is just a little different, shifting from playing around villages to playing around provinces or countries with the help of technology.

On the other hand, travelers use their own money and stimulate economic - tourism growth without causing real harm to anyone or anything. Moreover, people who bring the whole family along on the holiday or feel homesick on the way are prime evidence for the fact that this trend is neither expanding the generation gap nor damaging family relationships. Thus, "a day on the road gets you a sieve-worth of wisdom". Holiday trips are not only recreational but also provide people with new experiences and knowledge about local regions. Last but not least, despite the rise in the number of individuals choosing to celebrate Tet faraway, gathering in their hometown is still and will always be the majority so it is quite unreasonable to be anxious about that recent trend.

In conclusion, with cultural, economic, individual benefits far outweigh the risks, "a Tet away from home" in my opinion is not worth making a fuss worrying about and should be allowed to grow naturally.