In multicultural societies people of different cultural backgrounds live and work together Do you think the advantages of multicultural societies outweigh the disadvantages

It is not uncommon in the new era that people with different nationalities and cultural background mingle together, as the globalization of economy and culture continue to become the mainstream. This is an inevitable trend and I deem that it should be embraced with more optimism.

The interaction between citizens of diverse cultural backgrounds is likely to add more spice to the modem life. People coming from various countries lead quite distinct lifestyles due to different living habits and cultural heritage. The diversity of culture can bring a continuous feeling of freshness and a novel, exotic experience to those who have no former access to the other cultures. Take New York, for example, it is a noted metropolis renowned for its multitude of cultural complex and a bunch of cultural genres, which are the fusion of different ethnic groups' beliefs and cultural outlooks. The residents in New York can hardly feel bored with the monotonous life because they are more accessible to a cultural melting pot.

Besides, a multicultural society is more tolerant. It is true that the openness of one country is closely related to how diverse the culture is for the reason that mutual understanding and empathy are the foundation of peaceful co-existence. Thus, the dissent is inclined to be set aside in order to gain more consensus and the society will become more open to the less dominant cultures.

As for the dark sides of the multicultural trend is rather limited but still worth mentioning. One most conspicuous drawback might be the threat to the local culture, especially when other foreign cultures are too aggressive and dominant. But this problem can still be handled if some precautious measures are carried out.

To conclude, the exchange of different cultures is the unavoidable tendency and both individuals and the society as a whole can be the beneficiaries.