Gone are the days when people used to heavily rely on local products. Thanks to globalization, now we are able to purchase international goods also, due to the rise of transnational companies in privileged countries. Whether this phenomenon is positive or negative for the underdeveloped countries, has always been a question? In my mind, it have fairly equal side. This essay will delve into both the situations, before reaching a reasoned conclusion.

To embark with, growing trend of multinational companies in less developed countries has a great impact on the employment sector of a host country. This is because, when transnational companies are established in other countries, then there is a requirement of employees to do work in these companies. At this time, nearby people get opportunities to work, and they get source of livelihood for them too. KFC a food-service multinational company is an epitome of this situation. It provides employment to million people in India, who are engaged with different work of the company. So, this is to say that, multinationals have a great influence on employment rate of other nation.

By seeing from different prospective, rising of multinational corporations also have a negative impact on the nation, in which these are established. One deleterious effect, it has to the local market of the concerned nation. The increasing popularity of international brands, and products poses a threat to local products. This is due to the fact that, people often prefer the international brands due to their good quality and durability over the domestic products, which leaves local producers in business loss. Consequently, the local market is in a danger due to the advent of multinational companies.

Having analyzed both the pros and cons of the given topic, it is asserted that although establishment of transnational corporations offers a great number of employment opportunities to people, yet these companies harm the domestic market. So, in my opinion the pros and cons of multinational companies are fairly equal.