“Music is a universal language”. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People often opine that music is a language common throughout the world, which I believe is true as well. In my opinion music has no boundaries, which has been expressed in the forthcoming paragraphs.

To begin with, music is not just a combination of words that rhyme, but is an emotion expressed through a melodious tune. Every musical piece, no matter where it originates from, has a certain emotion linked to it—may it be love, passion, sadness or happiness—which can be translated through the music itself, without the need to understand the words blurted out by the singer. Moreover, the widespread popularity of Spanish songs like Despacito, or the flourish of K-pop outside their countries of origin perfectly exemplifies how language doesn’t act as a barrier in case of music.

Furthermore, learning a language through music is one of the effective ways to learn any country’s language as well as their culture. As music originating from a place not only expresses the context of the song, but also has the culture and traditions in their sub-text, learning through music not only introduces people with the language but also to the underlying cultural context influencing it. Studies have shown, the use of music can accelerate the process of understanding newer culture and language by nearly half the time, advocating for the aspect of universality in music.

In conclusion, I believe that language barriers do not apply when it comes to music as music is an expression of emotions common to all. Thus, music in my opinion can be declared as a universal language.