n some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In certain nations, youngsters are motivated to take a gap of one year either to do work or travel after completion of secondary studies and before entering in tertiary studies. In the following paragraphs, I will explain the merits and demerits of taking a one year break before persuing college.

To embark on, working or travelling before tertiary studies has plenty of positive sides. Firstly, doing a job before studies provides a prior experience and helps in analyzing whether the domain is right for a pupil or not. Secondly, it helps in learning how to maintain thefinances , consequently knows about the value of money as well as develop the sense of responsibility. On the other side, traveling in between studies provides opportunity to know about different people, their roles and achievements , ultimately gives a perspective to realize the purpose of life. Despites this, it gives a break from regular routine ,relax the person and energise him.

However, it has some drawbacks too. Students feel that life without study is more relaxing and happier than in institutions. Even some students waste their whole time in entertainment , fun and games . Moreover, one year break is a long period for some persons so inorder to spend time, they choose bad company of friends and get indulged in bad habits .

To conclude, students after higher studies are stimulated to take a break of one year while entering to university has both pros and cons. However, limitations can be reduced by proper utilization of time period and learning the indispensible facts related to the course or vocation a pupil wants to choose.