News editor decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspaper What factors do you think influence these decisions Do we become used to bad News Would it better if more good news was reported Re write Syerapke

The contents of news broadcast or newspaper are mainly dictated by editors, which arouses the question whether to put more good or bad news. This essay will discuss their consideration in choosing the news and the clash of positive and negative news.

In a world where we are bombarded with information, it appears to be more crucial to cherry pick by editors to primarily consider the quality and urgency of the news. Firstly, the quality should be considered the fundamental factor as inconsequential information leads to an impression that the organization falls short of the standards in the industry; hence, the negligible type will naturally be discarded. As for the urgency, one need look no further than the US election. Subscribers of the BBC will find the article that Bernie Sanders dropped out of the Democratic presidential campaign being labeled as "Breaking News".

Due to the volatility of the global issue, one may find it much easier to locate a piece of negative news in preference to flattering one and this essay agrees with it. The major subjects of news include politics, economy, science, society and so on, while the first two are always filled with uninspiring contents. It is attributed to the personal nature of these two circles where conflicts and battles never cease. Thanks to the political division, economic woes, and even terrorist attacks, the overall trend of news coverage has been heading towards calamity.

Despite the aforementioned fact, it does not mean I subscribe to intentionally releasing more good news. One reason is that doing research about recent events and bringing the results out is the essence of journalism. Should this principle be violated only to meet the needs of people who are not fond of the reality, it would force journalists to turn against their beliefs. Another reason is that although news media play a significant role in shaping the values and perspectives of the public, they should by no means completely cater for the audiences’ predilection. As far as I am concerned, allowing the audience to catch on to how the world is unfolding in turn increases the likelihood that issues can be resolved due to an upswing in the public awareness.

To conclude, it is indisputable that citizens are now facing a brutally honest reality about journalism, but nonetheless it is honest. For the well-being of not only concerned citizens as individuals but the society as a whole, to intentionally boost the flattering side of the news is not a favorable option.