News media are important in modern society. Why they are so important ? Are their influences generally positive are negative ?

News media hold a vital position in the technological revolution, which could be ascribed to various factors. Personally, I believe that this development exerts both advantageous and disadvantageous influences to the public.

There are two reasons to explain the paramount role of news media. Initially, they are likely useful tools for people to receive international as well as domestic news on all fields. For example, when tropical storms hit central Viet Nam, Vietnamese people will know this information through newspapers and televisions up to the minute. Therefore, they can provide emergency aid in the time of disaster. Additionally, the media has offered people more recreational choices. For instance, citizens can spend their leisure time on watching TV programmes and surfing the Internet instead of hanging out with their acquaintance.

Although there are some drawbacks related the development of media, its benefits should not be overlooked. Regarding to the negative effects, the rate of juvenile delinquency may increase significantly. Because of lack of self –control and experience, children have a tendency to mimic criminal activities if they are usually exposed to violent movies and detailed information about crimes on mass media. However, in terms of the merits, not only do news media supply information immediately to the community but they may also allow people access to a broad range of knowledge. As a result, these would give more opportunities for civilian to broaden the mind.

In conclusion, the ability to update information within moments and provide different types of entertainment seem to be factors leading the importance of news media. Due to the positive and negative effects, I think that we should make use of media, so they can do wonder for us.