Some people argue that news coverage has exerted many impacts on our lives in recent years and this trend is harmful to the society. While I accept this statement, I also believe that there are some positive points of the news media.

On the one hand, a high frequency of news stories focusing on negative aspects could have a detrimental impact on people’s attitude towards problems in their lives. For instance, the popularity of air accidents on television and newspapers triggers the insecurity of people when they get a flight, resulting in a decrease in the number of airplane passengers. Secondly, media channels nowadays mainly focus on new updates and amusement rather than educational purpose. Some reports or online magazines often emphasize the issues or events which are little relevant to people’s daily lives to grab the public attention. As a result, the audience might be distracted from something more noteworthy such as political news or weather forecast.

On the other hand, compared with half of a century ago, the electronic media nowadays is growing in popular, especially on the youth. Thanks to the widely popularity of mainstream media channels, the audience now are able to access news coverage everywhere and every time. It is no doubt for users to instantly access up-to-date breaking news of world events on TV channels or electronic newspapers. In terms of education, good news could convey inspiring messages and influence viewers to have positive living attitude. For example, some young people could be motivated to study and discover the world through reading the stories about great achievements of human in the past.

In conclusion, while the mass influence of news media can lead to some social problems, I believe that people are benefited from the improvement of electronic media.