Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, people are surrounded by marketing and commercial activities. Views differ on the implications of advertising, but I would argue that there are both positives and negatives in equal measure.

On the one hand, one of the negative points of advertising sector is the widely population of false and misleading advertisements in some forms of media. For example, in order to promote sales, some food and beverage businesses are willing to adjust illegally the proportion of ingredients written on product packing to fit within the allowable limit. As a result, the customers who consume these products might be affected negatively and increase the risk of health problems and other diseases. Moreover, the persuasive intent of marketing practices could encourage people buy more than their real needs. It is no more waste of money for consumers than buying goods which is not proper for their using purpose

On the other hand, apart from these drawbacks given, marketing and commercial activities also bring a wide range of benefits for society. Firstly, only thanks to advertisements, can customers be kept informed about newly-launched products. In other words, they are aware of the array of selections available to their demands; otherwise, they are confined to only a narrow range of products. Secondly, it is undeniable that advertising campaigns make significant contributions to increase brand awareness. Therefore, companies are able to approach prospective customers, promoting temporary sales and capturing more market share. On a large scale, advertising serves as a bridge between manufacturers and customers, giving rise to the consumer society.

In conclusion, the development of businesses has given rise to the growing number of advertisements, and this trend is, in my opinion, advantageous as well as detrimental.