Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, when recruiting a new staff, some employers state that life experience or personalities of an individual is not as vital as formal academic qualifications as it can save them time in hiring process. In my opinion, I believe this is a downward progress because many unfortunate talents are going to be wasted.

Employers have a biased favor in choosing candidates with qualifications over their experience in life or traits because it allows them to spend less time searching new employees. It is extremely difficult to select right candidates in thousands of available applicants on the market, and typically, companies do not have enough time to look through every CV when they are in shortage of staff. Therefore, qualifications are viewed as an evident to show for employers that individuals have gained related knowledge or have a general comprehension of the position they are applying. Ultimately, this helps them to remove a large number of irrelevant profiles, and the procedure of recruitment becomes easier and faster.

However, abusing this employing method can cause a detrimental effect which wastes plenty of talents. Some individuals living in such a harsh financial condition are often blocked to access to formal education. In order to make up for the loss of qualifications, they have to join in the workforce in their early age to obtain necessary skills and practical knowledge of the working field they are pursuing. Unfortunately, experts have shown that every year, millions of those talents are often neglected by companies because of lacking certain qualifications, and consequently, this forces them to opt for other manual or white-shirt jobs in factories.

In conclusion, although looking for new candidates relied primarily on qualifications can be beneficial for companies in speeding up the employment process, this can affect negatively on the workforce which many talents are left behind.