The research indicates that nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons and is it a positive or negative development?

It is believed that commercial advertisements in the contemporary world have significantly minimized their influence on numerous consumers. This essay will examine the underlying reasons and elaborate on the detrimental impacts of this trend on media enterprises.

There are several reasons for the decreasing influence of advertising on consumers, of which incompatible quality of goods is the chief contributor. The purpose of attracting more customers to a brand-new product has required manufacturers to collaborate with multiple media companies to launch various advertising campaigns which usually exaggerate the product quality with eye-catching packaging designs. For instance, Vietnamese customers are significantly familiar with the advertisement of instant noodles on national television, highlighting the colourful and tasty ingredients on the product's packaging. Nevertheless, the genuine quality of the product itself is way more terrible than being advertised. As a result, consumers nowadays are more inclined to ignore products advertised in the media than in the past.

Despite the above analysis, I argue that the less influence of commercial advertisements can exert detrimental impacts on the sustainable growth of media enterprises. As commercial ads have few effects on customers' habit consumption, multiple media companies which provide services in the field of advertising may face unexpected financial hurdles. Due to the falling number of customers who ignore watching the advertisement of new products on television, it is challenging for media companies to sign continuous advertising contracts with manufacturers who desire to bring their brand-new products to various consumers, leading to a sharp reduction in income for those media companies. As a result, this revenue deficit may pose a financial threat to those companies, which can result in business collapses.

In conclusion, customers are being less influenced by commercial ads than in the past, which can stem from the incompatible quality of products with advertising. This switch has resulted in substantial negative impacts on the business activities of some media enterprises.