More than half of the world’s population now lives in urban areas. The rapid growth of cities in some parts of the world is bringing all kinds of social, economic, and environmental problems.

Describe some of these problems and suggest possible solutions.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that the fast development of metropolises has a variety of positive impacts on society such as industrialisation and commercialisation; however, this growth might bring about some unexpected issues in the fields of culture, economy, and environment. This essay will look at this and propose several feasible solutions.

The first issue resulting from the sharp expansion of metropolitan cities is the crime rate increase. In other words, the influx of rural citizens to urban areas is exerting severe pressure on the government in creating job opportunities. As a result, the unemployed might commit a drug-production crime to make a living. Therefore, job opportunities should be ensured effectively in the countryside so that everyone can apply for a job.

The environmental consequence is another challenge caused by the non-stop growth of urban areas. Specifically, the needs of using electricity for households, manufacturing, and lighting system is increasing sharply in large cities. That will lead to a high demand for building hydroelectric power plants, which possibly contributes to the change of water flow, drought and biodiversity exploitation. For example, thousands of hydroelectric stations were manufactured in China and Laos, resulting in lowering the water level in the Mekong River and affecting thousands of lives depending on fishery alongside the river. Therefore, developing renewable energy is highly recommended to tackle this matter.

Finally, what might happen with the economy field is inflation. To be more specific, the fast development in urban areas might increase the demand for housing, which, in turn, drives home prices excessively expensive to afford. Consequently, construction products prices such as steel, cement and lumber used in homes might contribute to the escalation in prices. A way forward is to retain the inflation rate at an acceptable level so that it fails to affect the sustainable development of cities.

In conclusion, the dynamic growth in cities is contributing to a better life for citizens; however, this development might cause several unforeseen problems that require appropriate solutions to solve the root causes.