It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We can learn just as much from books, films and the internet . Do you agree or disagree?

The advent of technological advances in film-making, printing and the internet has provided people with a precious opportunity to immerse themselves deeply in other cultures, which unintentionally motivates them to underestimate the importance of travelling. From my perspective, I am not convinced by this statement and suppose that travelling is the only way to study other cultures.

On the one hand, travelling will facilitate tourists to grasp the indigenous culture. Indeed, what travellers might benefit from travelling is to take in an array of traditions and customs of local people that might not be broadcasted on the television. Take Bangkok as a prime example, foreign tourists could gain a deeper insight into various exhilarating outdoor activities in Songkran day, which is known as Thailand’s new year festival, such as the implied meaning behind watering activities. As a result, their cultural background will be broadened in an authentic way, which, in turn, allows people to share their authentic emotions to others.

On the other hand, learning a different culture from books, movies and the internet will hinder tourists from obtaining an overall picture of other culture. To be more specific, it is plausible that contents that mirror the dark side of a country circulated in the state media, films and books tend to come under the scrutiny of the government. This rigorous checking will aim at bringing foreign tourists with a perfect image of a home country to attract more tourists and therefore accelerate the revenue of the tourism industry. Consequently, tourists are those who not only squander a lot of money but also fail to achieve a genuine understanding of their destinations that they desire to visit.

In conclusion, it is irrefutable that there are various ways of learning a foreign culture, including books, films and the internet. However, it is my firm conviction that travelling is one of the most optimal ways of acquiring an understanding of other countries in light of the described reasons above.