In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why is this the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

There is a tendency for both city dwellers and rural citizens to take priority for homeownership over home renting. This essay will examine the potential causes and shed light on why the downsides of this trend far outweigh its advantages.

To begin with, long-term financial benefits and security deem to be the two most indispensable factors why a home purchase is crucial. With respect to the long-term financial gains, it is true that owning a home might be more economical in comparison with renting a home. In practice, homeowners might steer clear of a year-on-year increase in house price should they decide to purchase a home early; whereas, home tenants might undergo a boom in monthly renting fee and tax payment. Additionally, owning a home is likely to bring homeowners a sense of security. This is because homeownership might offer a precious opportunity for people to reside in a civilized community where other homeowners have high respect for the law, resulting in a sense of security among people.

Nonetheless, homeownership might deteriorate the unemployment rate. The fact that the more essential homeownership is, the higher the home price soars. This is likely to result in a large number of young citizens fails to afford a home, which, in turn, might contribute to a sharp fall in the number of the millennials migrating to metropolitan areas to apply for a job. Take the UK as a prime example, high home price has been deterring young people from moving to urban areas to seek a job. Consequently, the unemployment rate is creeping up in some parts of the UK.

In conclusion, homeownership might gain its prominence in several countries; however, its drawback can not be overlooked.