in some countries owing a house rather than renting one is very important for people why is this the case do you think this is a positive or negative situation

In some parts of the world, it is vital for individuals to live in an own property rather than to be a tenant. This trend is primarily due to their social status and higher costs of the rented houses. This essay agrees that everyone being a house owner is a negative trend because of scarce lands.

Citizens of these countries have a long-lasting social stigma that being a tenant is inferior to being a landlord. In other words, for them, living in a very own home is an indicator of their prosperity and higher status of living. This is supported by a recent study conducted at university of Colombo, in which they claim that 97% of Sri Lankan doctors own a detached house. In addition to showing off good living conditions, elevated prices of rented apartments contribute to increase this drive. Put simply, letting a flat consumes significant proportions of individuals’ monthly vague, which is not worth in the long run; therefore, investing on a property is more popular than paying for someone else’s house. For instance, the annual newsletter of Central bank revealed that 95% of those aged 25 to 30 took out a mortgage in 2020.

That being said, everyone’s effort to purchase a place to live brings disadvantages to most of the people in the country due to the limited availability of space. It is clear that, were a high-rising apartment building to construct, it can house a huge number of families compared to a single family living in a big house, which has a large garden. Making things worse is that lands in city centers, where the congestion is a deteriorating problem, lands are sold to affordable people to build their own luxurious homes. Recently, some authoritative powers have identified detrimental effects of this trend and that is why Sri-Lankan government has set a target to completely ban selling lands to private owners by 2030.

In conclusion, people in some countries consider buying a home is vital to letting a flat. The principle causes for this behavior are ever-rising house rent and higher social status that can be built with an own property. However, this essay disagrees with this condition as it has negative effects on the vast majority of citizens due to the rapidly decreasing amounts of lands.