Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that addressing environmental catastrophes is one of the most thorny issues. While some assert that it is the government but not citizens who will take on the responsibility to protect the environment, I would argue that environmental protection is the mutual responsibility of both the government and the public.

On the one hand, imposing strict penalties and raising people’s awareness of environmental protection should be done by the government. Indeed, levying strict fines toward those who violate the environmental protection law might accelerate the efficiency of environmental protection. Take Singapore as a prime example, the government has been imposing an array of policies against waste disposal in public, which, in turn, results in a free-rubbish country. Additionally, rasing people’s awareness of the importance of a free-pollutant environment appears to be quite effective. This is because once people fully acknowledge the benefits of breathing fresh air to their health, they might eventually recognize the needs of safeguarding the environment.

On the other hand, what citizens might take action is to steer clear of using plastic bags and private cars. First and foremost, avoiding plastic bags might solve soil pollution. In practice, wasted plastic containers tend to contain a plethora of toxic chemicals that usually deteriorate soil pollution. Thus, if plastic bags are eliminated in household wastes, it could result in deterring soil pollution. In tandem with this, a no private car policy is what the public could take priority to protect the environment. This is because carbon dioxide emissions from cars have been attributed to air pollution for years, and therefore a free-private cars transport system is likely to hinder the environment from being severely polluted.

In conclusion, it is plausible that retaining a pristine environment deems to be a daunting task for both the government and the public. Thus, it is imperative for both the government and individuals to join hands to minimize the grave consequences of environmental problems.