Many people think modern communication technology is having some negative effects on social relationships. Do you agree or disagree?

By all accounts, harnessing cutting-edge technology in daily conversations is detrimental to social relationships. From my perspective, while I agree with this statement, I do argue that the considerable advantages of communication technology cannot be overlooked.

On the one hand, the advent of modern technological advances in daily communications might lead to a deterioration in relationships among people. This is because modern technology utilised in daily communications might facilitate users to downplay the importance of a face-to-face conversation, which, in turn, could induce a lack of genuine understanding of each other. For instance, people these days are inclined to depend excessively on Facebook and other online platforms to deliver daily conversations with their mates without heading out for a one-to-one interaction, which unintentionally perpetuates an invisible distance between them. As a result, some might experience a sense of loneliness stemming from the lack of direct interaction with their friends.

On the other hand, state-to-the-art communication technology might bring about several benefits that humankind can take advantage of. One of the most irrefutable advantages is to aid people to stay in touch with their relatives regardless of distance. Take overseas tertiary students as a prime example, international students could call home by using a tablet or a smartphone with an internet connection though they are a thousand-mile far from their home. In tandem with this, what people might benefit from modern communication technology is less time-consuming. To be more specific, users will steer clear of commuting to an appointment place in light of making use of an online conversation, which possibly provides them with more time to complete other essential tasks.

In conclusion, communication technology is likely to become increasingly prevalent in society in the future. While I agree that this trend might cause adverse impacts on social relationships, I do assume that this tendency could bring about benefits to human.