Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental pollution is a major threat in human’s lives. While some people believe that solving environment-related problems is the duty of the government, others think they are able to join hands to deal with this issue. Personally, I strongly believe that this is the responsibility of both politicians and individuals.

On the one hand, the government has the right and power to solve the problem. Firstly, the government can introduce laws to punish heavily on polluters, drivers and companies in order to reduce the pollution. Secondly, the authorities should invest the public budget in energy-efficient production such as solar, wind and water power to reduce a large amount of carbon dioxide emission. For example, scientists take years to collect thousands of samples and analyze a huge amount of data to find out the reason for climate change, so it is necessary that the government should support them in terms of funds and modern equipment.

On the other hand, individuals can contribute significantly to protect the environment. As individuals, reducing the harm emission by recycling more, using more green -friendly products and turning off unnecessary lights when going out the house as well as planting more trees in the gardens. (...) I think without the cooperation between governments and individuals , the issue will never be solved effectively. For example, if the farmers continue to cut down forests for their personal purposes regardless of government’s regulations, climate change will never be effectively addressed.

In conclusion, I hold the view that both the government and individuals are equally responsible for environmental protection.