The news is a source of knowledge about the world. How much can we trust the journalists? What are the qualities a good journalist should have?

Today in journalism, we are in an era that unlike ever before, where everyone is a potential audience for all kinds of news and articles due to the Internet. The situation makes the demand of journalists exceptionally high, causing more and more people enter the industry without professional training and knowledge. This makes us wonder how much we can we trust the journalist and how to identify if one of them is unethical?

In my opinion, it is different from journal to journal. Most journals with high professional standards and reputation such as Forbes and New York Times are still great resources to gain accurate knowledge about ongoing events in the world. Since the journalist job market is more competitive than ever, these companies are able to hire journalists with the highest professional standards in nearly every aspects because they are the dream of all journalists. They still have the ability to produce high quality articles in time and educate the viewers with in-depth analysis, making them trustworthy.

Meanwhile, those journals who target professional audience in a specific area is also reliable as what they provide is not merely news, but also technical analysis towards audience who can easily identify the correctness and thoroughness of the article. The problem relying on these journals is that they might not be suitable for normal people to read as they are hard to comprehend.

However, if one article comes from an unknown or small company, the alarm should be ringed. They are the ones who most likely to come up with a catchy fake news just to bring traffic to their website. Trusting them would be a bad idea since the writers have a huge chance that they care less about their future career instead of making money in the short term, while the company behind the journal probably cannot afford editors for proofreading and improving the articles. Even if they were true, when they heard about the news those big names probably have heard it as well, making them not worthy to check out.

Overall, I think journalist still can be trusted. However, with the rise of the journalism, there sure will be many people who are unethical and unprofessional. If we as the audience care enough and say no to fake news, slowly but sure they will eventually die out of the business.