Much attention has been drawn to the ethical dilemmas over whether in vivo testing on animals is morally justified or it is otherwise. On the one hand, experimentation on non-human animals is deemed ruthless, let alone inhumane. On the other hand, however, imposing a ban on animal research could carry potential detrimental implications as fas as human's sake is concerned.

With respect to the abolishment of animal testing, the matter in question boils down to animal welfare. Each and every living creatures from primitive bacteria to socially complex chimpanzees are brought to this Earth with equal rights to exist. Notwithstanding this implied contract of equity, humans throughout the course of time repeatedly rid other animals of freedoms either by hunting or domesticating. On top of that, we now breed and keep certain classes of animals, such as rodents, primates or fishes, in laboratory settings and take their life for scientific purposes. This raises the debate whether such deed as dissecting live mammals, for example, is considered animal abuse. Should the academic community persist in exploiting animals, not only are regulations needed to standardize animal caring, but governmental supervision would also be of the essence.

Even though the moral downside is there to see, substantial practical applications are undeniable. Conducting trials of a newly discovered substance on other organisms instead of directly on the human body results in fewer preventable and unnecessary death. Based on the aftermath of the experiment, the prototype of a hypothesized drug can be either withdrawn or modified so that adverse reactions will not occur in humans. For instance, although a pharmaceutical company came up with a chemical agent which was initially safe on papers, the resultant death of a lab rat might lead to immediate suspension of the drug without the need for further investigations on humans. Considering the fact that lab rat cells and tissues are comparable to those of our body, if the drug is harmful to the rat’s body, it might be to ours as well.

In conclusion, performing laboratory testing on animals is neither humane nor vain, but a peculiar mixture of construction and destruction. If it had not been for the death of those animals, innovation would have died out.