“Nowadays, anyone who can’t speak English and is incapable of using the Internet is regarded as almost illiterate”. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Most people in today’s generation are relying on the Internet to do a lot of different tasks. In fact, many information from Internet is posted in English. Therefore, people are thought by some to be nearly illiterate if they can not speak English or use the Internet. However, in my opinion, while I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial to the individual, I agree that people who do not use them should not be considered as illiterate.

With regards to individuals, the impact that Internet and English has had on each person has clear advantages. English is a commonly-used language, along with the Internet, can bring people together as they easily meet and participate in discussions with anyone outside of their immediate circle or community. Knowing how to use English may open up more opportunities like pushing the career forward. Also, it is better and easier for you to get access to knowledge as well as have a more convenient life if you are able to use the Internet.

On the other hand, supposing that they have a lot of benefits for people, there are still many who are not interested in English and Internet and they are regarded as illiterate. Illiteracy is definited as a lack of ability to read and write at all. Actually, we do not use illiterate to refer to how well or badly someone knows a foreign language but to talk about their competence in the language. For example, a person who can read and write Japanese is not usually considered illiterate, whatever country they are in. Also, despite the popularity of English in the world, it has no official status, so not everyone will have to learn English. . The same situation comes to the Internet as many people do not pay attention to this technological advantage. Each person has their individual conditions, jobs or hobbies. If you work in National Intelligence Agency, you of course are not allowed to use some social networking sites which are related to the Internet. Many people do not use the Internet because they do not like but not to know how to use it. English and the Internet are just means of Technology 4.0, they are not compulsories but they can make our lives more comfortable and convenient.

To sum up, whether you choose to learn and use English, whether you use the Internet or not, it all depends on you.