There’s a popular saying that, “your choice of dressing plays a determining role in the way you’re addressed”. There have been controversies about the importance and need for uniform among employees of various establishments. Although not all companies necessarily need uniformity among its employees, there are certain jobs where uniforms are of extreme importance. This essay will explore the benefits and draw backs that uniformity can bring.

Uniformity is of great importance in organizations such as hotels, hospitals, gas/filling stations, security agencies, etc. Air hostesses, police officers and the army also require the use of uniforms. This list is not exhaustive. A very important reason for uniformity in the jobs mentioned above is easy identification. An individual with a clothing that has a company’s name ascribed on it or a clothing that is widely recognized to signify a particular job or position can be singled out of thousands of other individuals with different wears no matter how expensive. An example is the police officers’ uniform which is out-rightly outstanding and distinct among all clothing, and the fact that not just anyone can wear it emphasizes that it is for identification.

Another advantage is the respect that often comes with being in a uniform. For example, bus conductors usually refuse to accept transportation fare from a police officer as long as such officer is in uniform for identification. Medical practitioners are also held in high esteem by the society. Once medical practitioner in uniform will most likely get more recognition in terms of respect in comparison to one who is not in uniform and unidentifiable.

Furthermore, research has shown that 90% of individuals in uniforms are less likely to get harassed or assaulted but will rather be accorded respect.

However, there are disadvantages to being a uniformed employee. Some are as little as the inability for individuals to confide in them, because they are scared of been bursted.

In conclusion, uniforms are great for identification, uniformity and even a touch of beauty and organization but they could also cause a bridge between the uniformed employees and the rest of the society.