Nowadays, distance-learning programs are commonplace, but some people argue that they are not as good as those attending in a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, it is a trend that distant-learning programs are becoming more and more accepted. Though it differs from traditional education, it is still a good way of learning, and also a perfect supplement for the educating system.

Compared with the conventional courses you have to attend classes, distant-learning provides flexibility that you can learn at any time and any place. This is beneficial for those who cannot attend class for some reasons. Further more, it is free for student to arrange their courses by themselves, letting them to adjust the speed of learning. In this way, with a customized schedule, student can learn much better, achieving a better result.

Some people are worrying about the communication between teacher and student in distant-learning programs. But with forums and emails, discussions and answers can also be online in this way; so this should not be a problem. And this can be an advantage sometime since producers and teaching assistants of online courses are often from top universities. Their replies are useful and straight-forward .

But lack of monitoring in distant-learning can be a problem. In traditional teaching style, teachers also act as the supervisor who pushes students forward. In the online case, nobody pushes these students. This may lead those weak-minded people to failure. Moreover, lack of social activity is a problem for those who use only distant-learning materials.

Overall, the distant-learning course can achieve a same or even better result compared with attending courses in person. But only in cases schedules are made and goals are achieved in time. So from my view, it should be combined with traditional teaching methods.