Alternative medicines and treatments are being adopted by an increasing number of people. While advocates of such medicines may provide a bunch of justifications for their use, I believe that this trend could be dreadful.

Admittedly, some alternative treatments do improve people’s physical and mental health. For example, practising meditation may allow people to have a rest and ultimately lead to a reduction of mental pressure and a sober mind because it requires concentration on breathing and disengagement from the bustle of everyday life. In addition, compared to standard medical care in hospitals, the lower cost of some specific alternative medicines, such as herbs, certainly appeals to crowds, so it is no wonder more people are prone to apply these treatments.

Nevertheless, some alternative medicines that are claimed to be effective might contain few active ingredients, while others might consist of elements that pose a health risk or call for professional guidance. Therefore, these alternative medicines that appear to work could simply function as placebos as there is a lack of valid evidence of their efficacy. To be specific, instead of truly improving their health conditions, it is patients’ consciousness that makes them believe such medicines are helpful and they feel much better. As a result, despite the possible harmlessness of placebos, people trapped in the illusion of recovery may run the risk of missing the best cure time. Moreover, although the majority of alternative medicines are unlikely to cause serious harm to patients, an inappropriate choice of medicine and dose, as well as incorrect operational procedures, can still result in additional health concerns. For example, homeopathy suggests patients take in materials that can cause the same symptoms as those they are suffering from in order to cure themselves, which would frequently bring about severer pain. In addition, treatments such as massage have the potential to inadvertently harm joints and ligaments.

To conclude, although alternative medicine could seem to be helpful in some cases individuals still have great difficulty controlling its risk due to the inadequacy of scientific basis and practitioners’ expertise.