Nowadays, international tourism is the biggest industry in the world. Unfortunately, international tourism creates tension rather than understanding between people from different cultures.

Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, tourism- a worldwide profit-making industry has arouse controversy among people over its advantages and disadvantages. Although some assert that the development of international tourism might pose a threat to the connection between people, I hold a belief that it bridges the gap between different nations.

On the one hand, unprecedented growth and unsuitable codes of conduct are two justifications why this phenomenon is perceived to provoke the hostility between cultures. First, the management of the local authority cannot meet the demands of the rapid increase of foreign visitors causing the place to suffer from social chaos . Take VT beach as an example, the occurrence of traffic congestion and inadequate parking areas stemming from the influx of global tourists leads to arguments and fighting in this place. The second reason is the misinterpretation of some behaviors that are accepted in one country but inappropriate for another. For example, in Western countries, kissing publicly is socially considered as a way to show a person’s love and gratitude towards others, while the etiquette is an obscene action for Easterners. Therefore, Vietnamese or Chinese people might react aggressively when seeing Westerners expressing their love in such a way in these Asian countries .

On the other hand, I believe that global tourism plays a pivotal role in minimizing the disparity between people from all over the world due to the better understanding about a new language and culture. To begin with, paying a visit to a country gives people a chance to enhance their language proficiency and break the language barrier. For instance, when one going on a trip to America, he can accumulate he slangs and idioms in English, which help avoid some misunderstanding due to the lack of vocabulary, communicate and strengthen the bonds between people. Furthermore, travelers from various countries can adopt and exchange some etiquette to make people know more about one another. In particular, if people from the East side of the globe can emulate the punctual manners of the West, they can assimilate into Western culture with ease.

In conclusion, though there might be some conflict aroused by international tourism, I must admit that it allows overseas visitors to experience different cultures and can therefore connect people through a mutual understanding.