Some people think that the most important thing about being rich is it gives a person the opportunity to help other people. Do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are divided as to whether or not affluent people should provide their money to people from less advantaged backgrounds. While some assert that it is best for the rich to use money for their own needs, I believe showing compassion for unprivileged individual should be prioritized by wealthy ones.

On the one hand, there are some justifications why rich people should disregard the help for others as their top concern. First, when possessing a colossal amount of money, these people should satisfy their demands prior to assisting others. In particular, people from affluent backgrounds have been endeavoring through nerve-racking and strenuous time to earn such a lucrative income so it is time for them to reward themselves and unwind by lavishing their money. Second, money earned by the wealthy should be reserved for future predicaments. For example, were it not for his huge monetary assets, Bé Heo a Vietnamese millionaire could not receive state-of-the-art American medical treatment to colon cancer, an incurable disease in VN at the time, and become a healthy person later in life.

On the other hand, I hold belief that helping the majority of citizens is of pivotal importance because these rich can express their altruism and bridge the disparity between social statuses. To begin with, sharing life burdens of destitute individuals plays a crucial role in alleviating both their mental and physical pain. For instance, via charitable campaigns raised for people suffering from natural disaster in Japan ,Oprah Winfrey, a philanthropist not only assuages the sorrow from losing homes and family but also provides them with food. Furthermore, by diverting money to impoverished individuals, the wealthy are maintaining the balance in the society. To be more specific, when well-off people allocate money for their tuition fee of children from poverty-stricken areas, these kids can have a chance to gain access to education and broaden their knowledge like their wealthy peers.

In conclusion, although the opportunity to help others is not the most important things that wealthy ones should do, I believe that the benevolent actions should be given the highest priority.