Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe that there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided as to whether or not prolonging the time that an offender is in prison is an optimal solution to the current escalating crime rate. In my opinion, while some assert that this way has some positive outcomes, other approaches should be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, there are some justifications why longer prison sentences are claimed to be the ideal solution. First, the longer perpetrators stay in jail, the more time they rehabilitate. Particularly, they would adequately reflect on their brutal actions and distinguish between right and wrong, which prevents them from reverting into crime when reintegrating into society. Second, the extension of confinement acts as a deterrent to people having the intention of embarking on crime. For example, when the Vietnamese government raises the prison sentence for crime of passion from one to five years, the prospective offenders are reported to solve their problems in a more harmonious way rather than committing crime.

On the other hand, I believe that there are other enduring solutions to tackle crime problems. To begin with, law lessons should be incorporated into core curriculum in order to raise residents’ awareness at the early stage of their life. To be more specific, when grasping the knowledge about terms of laws and punishment, students will refrain themselves from violating the regulations and become law-abiding citizens later in life. Furthermore, national authority needs to control the violent content of the media. In particular, it is said that crime scene should be censored during peak hours because children might unintentionally imitate these unlawful actions and regard them as ways to vent their discontent.

In conclusion, although longer prison sentences might be perceived as a perfect solution, I believe that censoring media content and educating children about laws are better alternatives to decrease crime incidents.