Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe that there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people believe that forcing offenders to serve a higher proportion of their sentences in prison is the best way to reduce crime rates, the others argue that there are better alternatives to deter crime. This essay will point out these two viewpoints and voice my opinion.

On the one hand, there is a wide range of reasons why some people think lengthening prison sentences is the most effective solution to reduce the incidence of crime. First and foremost, it goes without saying that people who are in custody cannot commit a crime; therefore, the crime rates might be somewhat decreased. Secondly, spending more time in prison could not only help prisoners to realize that their unlawful actions have profound consequences but also instill in them the values of being law-abiding citizens. For instance, if lawbreakers go through longer prison sentences, they would be separated from their loved ones and be deprived of their freedom for a long time. They also cannot receive social services such as public health services. In this way, transgressors will comprehend the consequences of criminal activities and do not violate the laws again. Furthermore, longer prison terms could act as a deterrent to make people think more carefully before breaking the laws.

However, I do not believe the use of harsher punishment is the optimum method to prevent crime as it could bring several detrimental effects. The first effect is that heavier punishment could shape negative attitudes toward society. In addition, if lawbreakers have to stay longer in prison, it could be hard for them to make a living after they are released into society due to the criminal records. As a result, many of them have to commit a crime to earn money, which in turns increase the re-offending rates. On the contrary, I am of the opinion that there are many better ways to combat crime. For example, the government should provide financial aid to help the poor and job seekers because the main causes of crime are poverty and unemployment. Another measure is that the government could invest in educational systems to raise social awareness of obeying the laws. I strongly believe that these solutions could be more effective because they prevent crime from the root.

In conclusion, much as I agree that longer prison sentences could be a prudent idea to some extent, I do not think it is the best way to reduce crime rates. It seems to me that financial aid and better educational systems could prevent crime in a more comprehensive way.