Many people aim to achieve a balance between their work and lives, but few people achieve it.What are the causes of this? How to overcome this problem.

It is true that work-life balance is something that most people aim for, but it is by no means an easy task with many of them. This essay will outline a number of reasons behind this situation and a number of possible solutions to mitigate the problems caused by it.

There are several causes of the failure to achieve work-life balance. Firstly, given the hectic pace of life, many companies force their staff to work extra hours in order to maximize the profit. Therefore, many people could not spend time for their loved ones or recreational activities. Furthermore, many parents, in fact, are willing to handle the heavier workload in their workplace so that they would make more money, as they believe money could enhance the standard of living and safeguard a better future for their children. Finally, we currently live in a materialistic society where many people associate valuable possessions with a higher social status. Thus, to achieve a superior status, people often engage in the pursuit of wealth, and so they spend most of their time working instead of on other aspects of their lives.

This problem can be mitigated by adopting a variety of measures. One possible remedy is that enterprises could offer longer paid annual leave to enable their staff to alleviate stress. By traveling for a short time, workers can refresh themselves and be ready to go back to work. In this way, they can have a balance between working and enjoying their lives. Additionally, people should arrange a specific time of the weekend for their families and friends. Through spending time to strengthen the bond between family members and widen the circle of friends, they could temporarily forget their materialistic pursuits and might realize that family bonding as well as friendship create more lasting happiness.

To sum up, work-life imbalance mainly results from the willingness to work overtime to pursue material values. And I would argue that we can tackle this problem by spending time with family members and friends.