Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People remain divided over the importance of zoos. While a school of thought holds that zoos have a crucial role to play in the protection of wildlife, others claim keeping wild animals in captivity is cruel and unnecessary. From my perspective, I agree with the former view.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people are skeptical about the role of zoos in saving wild animals. Opponents of zoos would argue that it is more beneficial for animals to live in their natural habitat rather than be locked up in cages for their entire life. For instance, wild carnivores such as tigers and lions often look more robust than their captive counterparts. Furthermore, in some zoos, animals are provided with insufficient food and medical care, which likely causes them to die due to starvation and diseases. Lastly, if zoos are constructed predominantly for entertainment purposes, they may teach the young generation that confining animals in zoos for our own sake is acceptable.

However, there are several compelling reasons to believe that zoos play an indispensable role in protecting wild animals. First and foremost, zoos could make outstanding contributions to the preservation of endangered species by providing them with an area that simulates their natural habitat and keeping them safe from poachers. Secondly, given the fact that in the wild, some animals have difficulty finding mates and breeding, many zoos have run breeding programs to support them in these activities. Thirdly, thanks to zoos, people and animals are brought together. This exposure could not only help people develop a deeper understanding of wildlife but also instill in them a love for animals. As a result, more people would participate in the protection of wild animals.

In conclusion, I would contend that the zoos that maltreat animals are in the minority. Most zoos contribute enormously to the conservation of wild animals; therefore, they are of necessity.